The Latin word sacramentum literally means “a sign of the sacred” and The Sacrements at St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic Church are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians.

They are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence. That’s what theologians mean when they say that sacraments are at the same time signs and instruments of God’s grace.


Baptism is the first sacrament celebrated in the process of becoming a full member of the Church community. It is the first of the three Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist.

Baptism is, like all the sacraments, a gift from God. Water is the universal symbol. Water is absolutely essential for all life. Water cleanses and restores. It is the waters of Baptism which give us new life. In accordance, through Baptism we die to ourselves in order to be restored and resurrected in the new life of Christ.

Baptism will be celebrated the second and fourth Saturday of the month, Parents and godparents must attend the Pre-Jordan that take place the second and fourth Friday of the month at 7:30pm. This preparation can be received in another parish, but they must present a certificate. Arrangements for Baptism may be made by contacting the rectory.

For the Sacrament of Baptism, each child must have at least one Godparent. If there are two Godparents, it must be comprised of one man and one woman. In order to be eligible, a Godparent must be:
– At least 16 years of age
– A fully initiated Catholic (has received Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist)
– A practicing Catholic (including the regular reception of the Sacraments)
– Married in the Church (if Godparent is married)

All Godparents must get a “Letter of Eligibility” from the Parish in which they are currently registered. A parent of the child cannot also be the Godparent. A baptized Christian of another denomination cannot be a Godparent. However, he or she is permitted to stand in as a “Christian Witness,” provided that there is also one Godparent present.

For more information on BAPTISM, please contact the church.


Baptism, the Eucharist, and the sacrament of Confirmation together constitute the “sacraments of Christian initiation,” whose unity must be safeguarded.

Confirmation perfects Baptismal grace; it is the sacrament which gives the Holy Spirit in order to root us more deeply in the divine filiation, incorporate us more firmly into Christ, strengthen our bond with the Church, associate us more closely with her mission, and help us bear witness to the Christian faith in words accompanied by deeds.

Regular Mass attendance and parent involvement is crucial and required to prepare for this Sacrament.

Regular Mass attendance is crucial and required to prepare for this Sacrament.

For more information on CONFIRMATION, please contact the church.


The Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation (commonly called Penance, Reconciliation, or Confession) is one of the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church (called sacred mysteries in the Eastern Catholic Churches), in which the faithful obtain absolution for the sins committed against God and neighbor and are reconciled with the community of the Church.

By this sacrament Christians are freed from sins committed after Baptism. The sacrament of Penance is considered the normal way to be absolved from mortal sin, by which one would otherwise condemn oneself to Hell.

As Scriptural basis for this sacrament, the Catechism of the Catholic Church says: “The words bind and loose mean: whomever you exclude from your communion, will be excluded from communion with God; whomever you receive anew into your communion, God will welcome back” (John 20:23).

For more information on PENITENCE, please contact the church.

Anointing of the Sick

The anointing of the sick is administered to bring spiritual and even physical strength during an illness, especially near the time of death. It is most likely one of the last sacraments one will receive. A sacrament is an outward sign established by Jesus Christ to confer inward grace. In more basic terms, it is a rite that is performed to convey God’s grace to the recipient, through the power of the Holy Spirit.

Like all the sacraments, holy anointing was instituted by Jesus Christ during his earthly ministry. The Catechism explains, “This sacred anointing of the sick was instituted by Christ our Lord as a true and proper sacrament of the New Testament. It is alluded to indeed by Mark, but is recommended to the faithful and promulgated by James the apostle and brother of the Lord.” (Mark 6:13)

Who Can Receive the Sacrament of Anointing?
The Sacrament of Anointing should be received when someone is:
• Preparing for surgery and, when during the course of recovery, their condition worsens
• Struggling with serious or chronic illness
• Coping with emotional illness
• Nearing the end of their life

For more information on ANOINTING, please contact the church.


Congratulations on this joyous decision! We hope you will use this special time to deepen your relationship with one another and with St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic Church. A wedding is only for a day; a marriage is for a lifetime.

Some people wish to marry at St. Joseph’s while others wish to be married elsewhere. Some mixed-religion couples wish to be married by a minister or rabbi, but want their marriage recognized by the Church. Whatever your circumstances, we wish to assist.

Can anyone prepare for marriage at St. Joseph’s?
Sorry, we can’t prepare everyone, but we can help those who are:
– Already registered parishioners or someone who lives within the parish boundaries;
– An associate member who has the permission of your own pastor;

For more information on MARRIAGE, please contact the church.

Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the continuation of Jesus Christ’s priesthood, which He bestowed upon His Apostles. This is why the Catechism of the Catholic Church refers to the Sacrament of Holy Orders as “the sacrament of apostolic ministry.”

“Ordination” comes from the Latin word ordinatio, which means to incorporate someone into an order. In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, an individual is incorporated into the priesthood of Christ at one of three levels: the episcopate, the priesthood, or the diaconate.

Eligibility for the Sacrament of Holy Orders
The Sacrament of Holy Orders can be validly conferred only on baptized men, following the example set by Jesus Christ and His Apostles, who chose only men as their successors and collaborators. The Eastern Churches allow married men to be ordained priests, while the Western Church insists on celibacy. But once a man has received the Sacrament of Holy Orders in either the Eastern Church or the Western Church, he cannot marry, nor can a married priest or a married deacon remarry if his wife dies.

If you have received a calling for HOLY ORDERS, please contact the church.